Museum opening hours: 11AM to 5PM. Wednesday, Saturday, Sunday

First World War German Navy Records at the National Archives: New Finding Aids and Research Potential

Open to the General Public!
Join fellow WWI enthusiasts from northern California and beyond at the October SF Bay Area chapter meeting on Zoom.
We’ll plunge into the rich contents of the National Archives, specifically thousands of rolls of microfilm containing Imperial German Navy records. Speaker Tim Mulligan will acquaint researchers, and all those interested, with the content of Imperial German Navy records available at the National Archives in College Park, MD, He’ll focus particularly on recent finding aids that describe these records. He’ll also discuss their research potential for specific World War I events and aspects, and how they might broaden or revise current historical interpretations.
Timothy P. Mulligan, a native of Baltimore, received his Ph.D. in diplomatic history from the University of Maryland. He is a retired archivist with the National Archives and Records Administration, where he worked for 34 years (and 10 years more as a volunteer), primarily with modern American military and captured German records. He is the author of three books and over 20 articles.
DATE: Saturday, October 9, 2021
TIME: 1:30 p.m. Eastern / 12:30 p.m. Central / 10:30 a.m. Pacific
DURATION: Approximately 60 minutes
If prompted, use the security information below:
Meeting ID: 976 0835 2903
Passcode: 509069
You can see recordings of previous meetings on our YouTube channel.
Don’t miss out! The next issue of WWI Illustrated is being mailed out to our current, dues-paying members. If you’re not a current member, renew your membership today. Not sure about your membership status? Just email us at [email protected].
Book Online

Michigan's Military Heritage Museum

Learn more